back from an unscheduled break… with cookies!

11 Jan

image via "Crepes of Wrath" blog

Hi friends,

Due to a family emergency, we had to rush to MN this weekend. It looks like things are on the up and up for our family member, but my fingers are still crossed.

Sadly, that (along with our computer being in the shop AND Tim getting food poisoning!!) meant that my new little blog had to be neglected. I hope you all didn’t spend the weekend crying your eyes out over my lack of postings. But I would understand if you did.

To make up for it, I am sharing a recipe (as per one of your requests) for the most delicious chocolate chip cookies in the world. I did not make up this recipe. In fact, a lot of you are probably already familiar with it. If only I could take credit for it, I would be on every talk show on the planet and would most definitely have the keys to every major city. Instead, I can only offer you my humble advice from making the cookies about one hundred billion times:

* Salt (for topping the balls of dough) – the size you use is important. Too big and it’s like licking salt rocks. Too small and it’s not worth it. Go invest in a box of kosher salt if you don’t already have it. Trust me, you’ll use it.

* Sugar – the recipe calls for light brown sugar. I have always used dark brown sugar. My cookies are still delicious.

* Flour – the recipe calls for cake and bread flours. I have made this cookie recipe with just about every type of flour imaginable (although I did abstain from using rye flour…). You can use straight up all-purpose and get a great cookie. I would not recommend using all cake flour (the cookie will be too delicate, flat, and just not as satisfying) but any other combination of cake, bread, or all-purpose flours will do.

* Chocolate – of course, you have to go with what floats your boat, but I use Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips. You can find them at just about any major grocery store. If you want to be super fancy, get the Jacques Torres chocolate disks, by all means.

* Aging the dough – really does make a difference. Of course, that’s not to say you couldn’t make one or two cookies right off the bat for all that hard dough-making work!

Alright, on to the cookies! To get the recipe, click here:

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/09/dining/091crex.html

If you have any questions about the cookies, please put them in the comment section.  And keep those requests coming! They make me smile. 🙂

xoxo

p.s. of course, I have to thank my best friend’s husband for introducing me to this recipe! Sir, you are entirely responsible if I ever gain 50 lbs. 

3 Responses to “back from an unscheduled break… with cookies!”

  1. Tim January 11, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Not premeditated, I am reading this post and eating one of said cookies. Miracles really can happen.

  2. Heather January 12, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Mmmmm… hope to make them tonight! Or, you can fly to my house and make them for me!

  3. Jara February 8, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    YES!!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

