remembering

25 Jan

Hi friends,

Sorry for the very long absence. I have been nasty, yucky sick and haven’t felt like doing anything for the past week. I also felt weird about blogging again without mentioning Tim’s Uncle Rob (whose funeral we attended last weekend) but wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to say or how to say it.

I haven’t been to many funerals – the last one I went to was my grandma’s when I was twelve – but I can say for sure that Rob’s was a beautiful and sad one. The entire church was filled with people who had come to say goodbye to Rob and offer their support to Tim’s mom and the rest of the family. It was amazing. I kept thinking, “Rob would have LOVED to be here.” It didn’t take much to make Rob happy and knowing that all of these people had come there just for him would have put him over the moon. Which, I guess depending on where heaven is located, he is.

Rob was mentally handicapped and had a lot of challenges thrown his way. But he always had people who cared fiercely for him and did their very best to make his life as good as possible. When it comes down to it, isn’t that what’s most important?

Here are a couple of pictures of Rob I wanted to share with you:

Tim's mom, Barb, and Rob at Christmas. I think he looks like the little boy from "A Christmas Story" here. So cute.

He looks so happy!

The two of us a few summers ago. I'll miss you, Rob!

2 Responses to “remembering”

  1. barb Farrell February 1, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Julie, Thank you for your loving and insightful comments about our Rob. They help keep him with us for just awhile longer. Love his big sister Barb

  2. Kevin February 19, 2012 at 5:43 am #

    Julie i know that when Rob read this post in heaven he was smiling. I do believe they have the internet there too.

Leave a Reply

