all about me

13 Mar

I thought this post needed a picture. This is me in Germany. I am indicating that this is my second gigantic pretzel of the day. You can probably tell from my face that I am very serious about this pretzel. The picture has nothing to do with the post.

My friend Quiana of the blog Harlem Love Birds recently asked me to participate in a “getting to know you” type of bloggy “tag.” And when I say recent, I mean, like, a month ago. You can see her original post here.

The object of the game is to answer the questions and then posit more of your own to send to your particular blog-friends. Obviously, I am not timely with these sorts of things. I can remember dozens of unanswered chain letters – actual letters- sent to me in my youth warning me of unspeakable horrors if I did not send them to five/ten/a million of my closest friends and relatives. I’m pretty sure I will be smote down any day now. However, as a woman of my word, I will not let Quiana down. Below are her questions and my answers followed by a few questions for YOU, lucky readers. I promise you won’t be graded on them. In fact, you don’t need to respond back with your answers, or even say them out loud. They are just a couple of things (hopefully nice things) that you might like to think about today.

Quiana’s Questions for the 5 Bloggers She Tagged:

1.  Did you watch the Super Bowl? If yes, did your team win? If no, what were you doing instead?

Yup. I was with my in-laws in Arizona, routing for the Giants. I was the youngest person in the room, the only female watching the game, and I knew the NFL rules better than the old-timers. Take that stereotypes!

2. If you could be a female pop star which one would you be and why?

I’m assuming that Miss Piggy doesn’t count. So, I will say Lady Gaga. I think it would be fun to be so shocking. I would sing better than her, though.

3. If you weren’t doing your current job/role what else could you imagine yourself doing?

I’d like to have my own travel show. It would involve me saying, “wow!” and “that’s so pretty!” a lot of the time and making faces as I attempt to eat strange things. Sounds fascinating, no? 🙂

4. What’s the last great book you read?

Oh gee, I love books. I would eat them if I could so they would literally (pun intended) be inside of me. I recently read “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” which satisfied both the historical/voyeur part of me as well as my science-y nerd-y self.

5. Share an interesting dream you’ve had. 

I just had an angry dream where popular (and bad) actors were misquoting Shakespeare all over the place (I was somehow in charge of auditioning them for a part that I wasn’t allowed to play) and they were all so stupid and wrong but smug about it. I was about to freak out on them (in my dream, of course) until Emma Thompson came and saved the day.

Please analyze.

6. What’s your favorite restaurant and when you go what do you order?

That is so tough because I like to eat. a lot. I am going to cop out by saying the best meal I’ve ever had at a restaurant was at Blue Hill in NYC. The dessert was so good, I came very very seriously close to licking the plate.

7. What part of your home do you hate to clean?

The toilet. More specifically, the base of the toilet.

8. Are you a fan of Valentine’s Day? Why or why not?

Um hum! I love pink and red together and flowers and candy. But I think Valentine’s Day should be for everyone, not just couples.

9. What grade of elementary school was your favorite and why?

Fifth grade. My teacher was cool.

10. What’s the next vacation destination you’d love to go to?

Anywhere warm and beachy.

11. What made you smile today?

The sunshine! It’s so nice outside today!

Ok. Enough about me, now some questions for you!

1. Who is your best friend? Have you told them you loved them lately?

2. When is the last time you gave someone flowers?

3. What is the nicest thing anyone’s done for you? (If that’s too hard, how about the nicest thing that’s happened to you this past month?)

4. Who is your hero?

5. What’s your favorite flavor of ice cream?

xoxo!

2 Responses to “all about me”

  1. Sunny March 14, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    This filled my Julie quotient for the day. Miss you oodles and oodles.

    xo – Sunny

  2. Quiana March 16, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    How fun! Thank you for playing along. I’m definitely adding The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks to my reading list and Emma Thompson saving the day in your dream? That is so interesting. I love her and can definitely imagine her coming to save the day!

Leave a Reply

